Home: Maucher Jenkins

Intellectual Property


Patents | Trade Marks | Designs


computer, mac computer, apple computer

Registration Of Granted UK Or EP(UK) Patents In Various Jurisdictions Worldwide

日期: 1 December 2015

It is possible to obtain patent protection in various jurisdictions worldwide by "reregistering" a granted United Kingdom (UK) patent or European patent (EP(UK)) which has been validated in the UK. Sometimes the local patent is called a confirmation patent or a patent of importation. The procedure provides Applicants with simple and cost-effective protection for their patent rights in jurisdictions which they might not otherwise necessarily consider including in their patent portfolios.

In general, a registration of UK national patent worldwide has to be applied for within 3 years from the date of grant of the UK patent, but there are some exceptions and we urge you to enquire with us if this may be important to you.


[As an alternative to registration of a foreign patent, some countries have independent patent systems with a mere "local novelty" requirement for patentability, although these are becoming less and less important as the information revolution conveys knowledge around the world. In such countries a local national patent application may be available if the invention still has local novelty. If this is of interest, it is important to act quickly - without waiting for the UK patent to proceed to grant - or local novelty may be destroyed by others out of your control.]



  UK or EP (UK) Any foreign patent
Caribbean • Cayman Islands
• Grenada
• Guyana
• Leeward Islands
• Anguilla
• Montserrat
• British Virgin Islands
• St Lucia (UK patent only)
• Turks and Caicos Islands (5 years)
• Haiti
• Jamaica
Asia-Pacific • Brunei Darussalam (can also register patent of Malaya or Singapore)
• Fiji
• Hong Kong
• Kiribati
• Nauru (can also register Australian or US patent)
• Solomon Islands
• Tuvalu
• Samoa
• Nepal
Africa/Indian Ocean/Middle East • Seychelles
• Sierra Leone
• Zanzibar (UK patent only)
• Burundi
• Democratic Republic of the Congo
• Ethiopia
• Iran
• Kuwait
• Rwanda
Black Sea

• Bermuda
• Cyprus (phasing out – depends on filing date)
• Gibraltar
• Jersey

• Guernsey
• Falkland Islands

• St Helena
• Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

• Georgia


Updated December 2015.